Thursday, February 23, 2017
Here’s what you need to know:
•You and your spouse-to-be must both be present at the Hall of Records, County Courthouse (1101 Anacapa St.), Monday-Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
•Applicants are not required to be U.S. citizens or residents of the State of California or of S.B. County. Both of you must bring a current government-issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license or passport and $100 for the regular/public marriage license fee.
• Both of you must be 18 years of age or older. If one or both applicants has been divorced or has terminated a state-registered domestic partnership within the last 90 days, a certified copy of the final dissolution of marriage or termination of domestic partnership is required.
•A marriage license issued anywhere in California can be used anywhere in California, but the records will be kept in the office it was issued.
•A confidential marriage license costs $111 and must be used in the county in which it is issued.
•Important: Once the license is issued, you can use it immediately; there is no waiting period, but don’t get it too far in advance! The license is valid up to 90 days after it is issued. For more about a marriage license application, visit sbcvote.com/ClerkRecorder/MarriageLicenses.aspx.
•After your ceremony, the officiant and a witness must sign the license. The license must then be turned in to the County Recorder, in person or by mail. It will be entered into the public record in one to two weeks.
•Now couples can indicate the new married name on the marriage license, thanks to the implementation of the Name Equality Act. Changing one’s name through this process can only be done at the time of the marriage license application. For more information, visit tinyurl.com/MarriagePamphlet.
Privacy laws for the marriage index changed as of January 1, 2010. For complete information restrictions and requirements regarding marriage licenses, call the County Clerk’s Office at (805) 568-2250 or visit sbcvote.com/Home.aspx.